Our Story

Growing up in a household that was very supportive of education, Kaitlin was always encouraged to work hard, go to college and change the world. While attending The College of New Jersey, Kaitlin worked in tutoring programs in Trenton and saw the disparity of education that existed in urban schools compared to her own schooling and the suburban districts she was student teaching in. Kaitlin joined Teach for America in 2008 and began teaching math at Freedom Academy. She continued as a math teacher and soon witnessed Freedom Academy transition to Freedom Prep and became part of the Democracy Prep Network. It was evident from these experiences that teachers and leaders change the game for scholars. Wanting to help ensure all Freedom scholars receive an excellent education, Kaitlin applied to Leader U and became a Leader U Fellow in 2014-2015. In 2015-2016, Kaitlin became Principal of Freedom Prep and continues to work every day on her lifelong goal to ensure that all scholars receive an excellent education and that every single child is given the opportunity to work hard, go to college and change the world.

Ron Brady

Kaitlin McCann

6 – 8

267 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Kaitlin McCann


Dan Brown

Assistant Principal

Obadiah Knight


Jasmine McCall


Jaclyn DiCapua

Social Worker

Katelynn Sheeder

Operations Manager

Rebeca Gonzalez

Operations Associate

Migdalia Morales

Operations Associate

Omar Winfrey

ACT Teacher

Allison Deschler

ACT Teacher

Kathryn Rushton

ACT Teacher

Shannon Walzer

ACT Teacher

Kristie Wilson

8th Grade Math Teacher

Brian D'ulisse

8th Grade Reading Teacher

Michael Christiansen

7th/8th Grade Reading Teacher

Ray Falls

6th/8th Grade Science Teacher

Shawn Baratz

8th Grade Math Teacher

Troy Galarza

7th/8th Grade Writing Teacher

Chet Churchill

7th/8th Grade Science Teacher

Pamela Bergman

7th/8th Grade History Teacher

Elisabeth Ruff

7th Grade Math Teacher

Amanda Beckwith

7th Grade Reading Teacher

Micaela Tortella

6th/7th Grade Writing Teacher

Leah Kiser

6th/7th Grade History Teacher

Martha Marich

6th Grade Math Teacher

Danielle Polk

6th Grade Reading Test

LaTeesha Coursey

Physical Education & Health Teacher

Rachel Gerberich

Theatre Teacher

Candice Smith

Art Teacher

FPCS Board of Directors

Keisha Usher-Martin

President, Xerox

Sean McGrew

Treasurer, Catapult Learning

Carole Kraemer

Kraemer College Planning

Tighe Burns

Law Office of F. Tighe Burns, ESQ.

Amanda Vega

New Jersey Charter Schools Association

The Freedom Prep Charter School Board of Trustees will hold its regular meetings and executive committee during the 2017-18 school year at 1000 Atlantic Avenue, Camden, NJ at 6:30 pm on the following dates:

 Thursday, July 27, 2017

 Thursday, August 31, 2017 Canceled

 Tuesday, September 5, 2017

 Monday, October 2, 2017

 Thursday, October 26, 2017

 Thursday, November 30, 2017

 Thursday, December 21, 2017

 Thursday, January 25, 2018

 Thursday, February 22, 2018

 Thursday, March 29, 2018

 Thursday, April 26, 2018

 Thursday, May 31, 2018

 Thursday, June 28, 2018